Raising Awareness

In honour of Trans Awareness Week, I am sharing a new page I’ve put together; a selection of my favourite videos, blogs, books and resources on gender and gender variance. I hope you get a chance to browse this page, save it and share it to raise awareness of people’s diverse experience and understanding of gender.

http://transandfeministfriendlygenderresources.wordpress.com/

This is very much a work in progress, so please feel free to comment, feed back and suggest additions.

5 thoughts on “Raising Awareness

  1. nicolewiesen

    i love that you have done this. I recently to moved to Manila and have come across a new community. some call or label them 3rd gender , but they are truly an amazing group.http://wp.me/p3PyDv-1X.

    I look forward to reading more of your post.

    Reply
  2. Jamie Ray

    Thanks for the list, there is some interesting stuff there to read that I was unfamiliar with (some of it does not come across the ocean). Definitely going to get a copy of Cordelia Fine. Have you actually managed to read Judith Butler? I keep trying (I get the concept, but her sentences are maddening).

    Reply
    1. Sandy Hope Post author

      I’m in a Judith Butler Reading Group – we’re tackling her one chapter at a time, pretty impenetrable stuff, but probably worth it πŸ™‚ Fine is much easier, but equally worth it πŸ™‚

      Reply
      1. Jamie Ray

        Impressive. When I start, I think, I have to read Lacan, Levi-Stauss, Foucault, etc. A group sounds like the right way to do it without having to back to grad school.

Leave a Reply

